ExoTheology & Space-Age Interpretations of the Bible

(religious implications of an inhabited universe)

“Hell, give me a time machine, a helicopter, and a 9mm semi automatic pistol and I’ll have the 12 tribes of Israel worshipping me.”

A couple of comments on a discussion of Ancient Astronaut Theory…

BUT, Clarke’s Third Law:

“Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.” So in terms of such beings, if we assume they did exist, being able to drop the jaws of some bronze and iron age cattle herds — yes, that part is totally plausible. Hell, give me a time machine, a helicopter, and a 9mm semi automatic pistol and I’ll have the 12 tribes of Israel worshipping me.

and

Carl Sagan I think actually weighed in on this subject some years before Von Daniken made it popular. I believe the more technical term is “Paleo-Contact”. The general theory is not so absurd at all. It’s simply the idea that, at some point in antiquity, intelligent creatures from another solar system visited the earth and that their visits were misinterpreted by the locals who had no knowledge of space travel. I don’t remember, but I think Sagan may have cited aa Assyrian story that sounded like it may have been a “contact” story. The idea then, on the face of it, seems plausible. Where Von Daniken made his mistake was, in assuming the impact of these visitors on human culture, and the possible artifacts they left behind.

Leave a Reply

